FIFA 2017 Confederatons Cup Starts Today: Beginner’s Guide

The FIFA Confederations Cup is a tournament held every four years, since 1992, and it acts as a rehearsal for the FIFA World Cup. It is contested by the 6 holders of the regional titles as well as the FIFA World Cup Holder and the host nation.


ALSO READ  MFM FC retains FA cup trophy

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

This year’s edition is about to start in Russia. The tournament is being hosted by Russia who will play the inaugural match against New Zealand on the 17th of June.

Group A: Russia (Host of 2018 WC), New Zealand (Oceania Champions), Portugal (European Champs) and Mexico (CONCACAF Champs)

ALSO READ  Senegal suspends sporting activities

Group B is formed by: Cameroon (African Champs), Chile (South American Champs), Australia (Asian Champs) and Germany (World Champs).

Since its creation the following teams have won the title: Brazil (1997, 2005, 2009, 2013), France (2001, 2003), Mexico (1999), Denmark (1995) and Argentina (1992).

The Golden boot has been won by (in chronological order): Gabriel Batistuta (1992), Luis García (1995), Romario (1997), Ronaldinho (1999), Robert Pirés(2001), Thierry Henry (2003), Adriano (2005), Luis Fabiano (2009) and F Torres (2013).

ALSO READ  Neymar confirms china tour despite it being reported to be called off

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ronaldo wants to leave Real Madrid

Ex-Real president predicts possible Man Utd return for Cristiano Ronaldo